Recent News

Mills III/Kirby Expand Lead at NC Senior Four-Ball

 ROCKY MOUNT, N.C. (August 10, 2017) -- Second round results from the 17th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship at Benvenue Country Club in Rocky Mount, N.C. on Thursday, August 10th (6,456 yards, par 36-36--72).


Related: Championship Web Site | Tee Times & Pairings | Scoring | History

Nolan Mills III and Robby Kirby of Charlotte continued their assault on Benvenue Country Club, firing a second round 66 at the 17th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship. The duo made eight birdies in their second round to increase their lead to five shots. Mills III and Kirby, who finished second earlier this year at the Carolinas Senior Four-Ball, are looking for their first N.C. Senior Four-Ball championship. Mills III is searching for his third overall CGA title, adding to his 1983 N.C. Amateur and 1981 Carolinas Amateur victories.

Cliff Seastrunk and Lennie Barton of Raleigh fired a second round 67 to propel them into a three-team tie for second. The combo opened with a birdie on their first hole, then added five more to put them in the lead pairing for Friday's final round.

Also tied for second are the defending champions, Ed Byman of Raleigh and Preston Edmondson of Morrisville, as well as Keith Waters of Raleigh and Ernie Newton of Winston-Salem. Byman and Edmondson got off to a hot start with an outward nine of 33 but cooled off, coming in with even par 36 for a three-under round of 69. Waters and Newton rallied after a first hole bogey with four birdies to shoot 69 and will be paired with Byman and Edmondson.

The cut line fell at eight over the par 152 as 30 teams made the final round.

Scoring will be provided by the CGA throughout the championship, offering hole-by-hole updates. Live updates will also be available on the CGA’s official Twitter account, @cgagolf1909. Continue to visit the CGA website throughout this championship and all year long for complete championship coverage including scores, interviews, photos, and recaps.

17th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship
Benvenue Country Club | Rocky Mount, N.C.

Second Round Results


Place Team Score
1 Nolan Mills III, Charlotte, N.C. -  Robby Kirby, Charlotte, N.C.  65-66--131 (-13)
T2 Ed Byman, Raleigh, N.C. -  Preston Edmondson, Morrisville, N.C.  67-69--136 (-8)
T2 Keith Waters, Raleigh, N.C. -  Ernie Newton, Winston Salem, N.C.  67-69--136 (-8)
T2 Cliff Seastrunk, Raleigh, N.C. -  Lennie Barton, Raleigh, N.C.  69-67--136 (-8)
5 Russ Perry, Winston Salem, N.C. -  Mark Stephens, Troutman, N.C.  70-67--137 (-7)
6 Johnny Elam, Charlotte, N.C. -  Stephen Sharpe, Greensboro, N.C.  68-70--138 (-6)
7 Ron Carpenter, Creedmoor, N.C. -  Gary Brown, Charlotte, N.C.  72-67--139 (-5)
T8 Neal Morrison, Charlotte, N.C. -  Bill Plyler, Charlotte, N.C.  69-72--141 (-3)
T8 David Eaker, Forest City, N.C. -  Steve Wilson, Wilmington, N.C.  71-70--141 (-3)
T8 Kim Mansfield, High Point, N.C. -  David Millis, High Point, N.C.  73-68--141 (-3)
T11 Garland Yates, Asheboro, N.C. -  Dave Davis, Asheboro , N.C.  70-72--142 (-2)
T11 Don Detweiler, Raleigh, N.C. -  Andy Burnette, Raleigh, N.C.  73-69--142 (-2)
T11 Robert Desjardins, Matthews, N.C. -  Bill Boles Jr., Wilson, N.C.  71-71--142 (-2)
T11 John W Fritz, Mint Hill, N.C. -  Doug Meggs, Mint Hill, N.C.  70-72--142 (-2)
15 Frank Golden, Charlotte, N.C. -  Macon Moye, Pinehurst, N.C.  74-69--143 (-1)
16 Dean Channell, Cary, N.C. -  Tuck Burkinshaw, Cary, N.C.  73-71--144 (Even)
T17 Bob Yow, Clinton, N.C. -  Lawrence Hicks, Greensboro, N.C.  72-74--146 (+2)
T17 Alan Dirk, Sanford, N.C. -  Stephen Glaser, Sanford, N.C.  71-75--146 (+2)
19 Robert Bennett, Clayton, N.C. -  Ben Collins, Raleigh, N.C.  75-72--147 (+3)
T20 Kenneth Eichele, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Chuck Latham, Vass, N.C.  75-73--148 (+4)
T20 Robbie Armistead, Raleigh, N.C. -  Arch Reed, Pinehurst, N.C.  73-75--148 (+4)
22 Terry Vereen, Caswell Beach, N.C. -  Allen Kinney, Oak Island, N.C.  71-78--149 (+5)
T23 Jim Hosey, Goldsboro, N.C. -  Stan Adams, Goldsboro, N.C.  77-73--150 (+6)
T23 Mike Bivins, High Point, N.C. -  David Tuttle, High point, N.C.  77-73--150 (+6)
T23 Rob Campbell, Charlotte, N.C. -  Michael Jones, Charlotte, N.C.  75-75--150 (+6)
T23 Will Alston, Rocky Mount, N.C. -  Tom Drew, Rocky Mount, N.C.  73-77--150 (+6)
T27 Bill Martinson, Chapel Hill, N.C. -  Rick LaFata, Raleigh, N.C.  75-76--151 (+7)
T27 Butch English, Cornelius, N.C. -  Bill Phillips, Charlotte, N.C.  75-76--151 (+7)
T29 Mark Wagner, Statesville, N.C. -  Dick Hogan, Burlington, N.C.  76-76--152 (+8)
T29 Robert Parrott, Raleigh, N.C. -  Chuck Parker, Raleigh, N.C.  78-74--152 (+8)
  Failed to Qualify for Final Round  
31 Ralph Ronalter, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Buck Adams Jr, Pinehurst, N.C.  78-75--153 (+9)
T32 Ray Jackson, Rocky Mount, N.C. -  Bob Norman, Rocky Mount, N.C.  78-77--155 (+11)
T32 John Helms, Mt. Holly, N.C. -  Paul Mauney, Iron Station, N.C.  76-79--155 (+11)
T32 David Shackelford, Cary, N.C. -  Jim Arlington, Apex, N.C.  78-77--155 (+11)
35 Bill Lee, Charlotte, N.C. -  Kenneth Weeks Jr, Charlotte, N.C.  80-78--158 (+14)
T36 Jack Purdy, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Charley Johnson, Southern Pines, N.C.  82-77--159 (+15)
T36 Steve Lambert, Greensboro, N.C. -  Cam Blalock, Wrightsville, N.C.  78-81--159 (+15)


Other News

News Archives

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media