Recent News

Mills III/Kirby lead NC Senior Four-Ball

 17th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship

Round One Results

Nolan Mills III and Robby Kirby of Charlotte, NC blistered their way around the 1922 Donald Ross layout with an opening round 65. Mills and Kirby used eight birdies on the day to propel them to first place after round one. Sitting just two shots back of the leaders are defending champions Ed Byman of Raleigh, NC and Preston Edmondson of Morrisville, NC and Keith Waters of Raleigh, NC and Ernie Newton of Winston-Salem, NC. Byman and Edmondson got off to a hot start birding their first two holes. The duo added three more birdies en route to their 67. Waters and Newton also kept a clean card with five birdies and no bogeys on the day.

The North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship format is 54 holes of four-ball stroke play. After Thursday’s second round, the field will be cut to the low 30 scores and ties.

Scoring will be provided by the CGA throughout the championship, offering hole-by-hole updates. Live updates will also be available on the CGA’s official Twitter account, @cgagolf1909. Continue to visit the CGA website throughout this championship and all year long for complete championship coverage including scores, interviews, photos, and recaps.

17th North Carolina Senior Four-Ball Championship
Benvenue Country Club | Rocky Mount, N.C.

Round 1 Results


Place Team Score
1 Nolan Mills III, Charlotte, N.C. -  Robby Kirby, Charlotte, N.C.  32-33--65 (-7)
T2 Ed Byman, Raleigh, N.C. -  Preston Edmondson, Morrisville, N.C.  32-35--67 (-5)
T2 Keith Waters, Raleigh, N.C. -  Ernie Newton, Winston Salem, N.C.  35-32--67 (-5)
4 Johnny Elam, Charlotte, N.C. -  Stephen Sharpe, Greensboro, N.C.  34-34--68 (-4)
T5 Cliff Seastrunk, Raleigh, N.C. -  Lennie Barton, Raleigh, N.C.  35-34--69 (-3)
T5 Neal Morrison, Charlotte, N.C. -  Bill Plyler, Charlotte, N.C.  34-35--69 (-3)
T7 Russ Perry, Winston Salem, N.C. -  Mark Stephens, Troutman, N.C.  36-34--70 (-2)
T7 Garland Yates, Asheboro, N.C. -  Dave Davis, Asheboro , N.C.  33-37--70 (-2)
T7 John W Fritz, Mint Hill, N.C. -  Doug Meggs, Mint Hill, N.C.  33-37--70 (-2)
T10 Terry Vereen, Caswell Beach, N.C. -  Allen Kinney, Oak Island, N.C.  34-37--71 (-1)
T10 Alan Dirk, Sanford, N.C. -  Stephen Glaser, Sanford, N.C.  35-36--71 (-1)
T10 Robert Desjardins, Matthews, N.C. -  Bill Boles Jr., Wilson, N.C.  36-35--71 (-1)
T10 David Eaker, Forest City, N.C. -  Steve Wilson, Wilmington, N.C.  37-34--71 (-1)
T14 Bob Yow, Clinton, N.C. -  Lawrence Hicks, Greensboro, N.C.  35-37--72 (Even)
T14 Ron Carpenter, Creedmoor, N.C. -  Gary Brown, Charlotte, N.C.  34-38--72 (Even)
T16 Don Detweiler, Raleigh, N.C. -  Andy Burnette, Raleigh, N.C.  35-38--73 (+1)
T16 Robbie Armistead, Raleigh, N.C. -  Arch Reed, Pinehurst, N.C.  37-36--73 (+1)
T16 Dean Channell, Cary, N.C. -  Tuck Burkinshaw, Cary, N.C.  37-36--73 (+1)
T16 Kim Mansfield, High Point, N.C. -  David Millis, High Point, N.C.  36-37--73 (+1)
T16 Will Alston, Rocky Mount, N.C. -  Tom Drew, Rocky Mount, N.C.  36-37--73 (+1)
21 Frank Golden, Charlotte, N.C. -  Macon Moye, Pinehurst, N.C.  36-38--74 (+2)
T22 Kenneth Eichele, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Chuck Latham, Vass, N.C.  37-38--75 (+3)
T22 Robert Bennett, Clayton, N.C. -  Ben Collins, Raleigh, N.C.  38-37--75 (+3)
T22 Bill Martinson, Chapel Hill, N.C. -  Rick LaFata, Raleigh, N.C.  36-39--75 (+3)
T22 Butch English, Cornelius, N.C. -  Bill Phillips, Charlotte, N.C.  36-39--75 (+3)
T22 Rob Campbell, Charlotte, N.C. -  Michael Jones, Charlotte, N.C.  35-40--75 (+3)
T27 Mark Wagner, Statesville, N.C. -  Dick Hogan, Burlington, N.C.  37-39--76 (+4)
T27 John Helms, Mt. Holly, N.C. -  Paul Mauney, Iron Station, N.C.  38-38--76 (+4)
T29 Jim Hosey, Goldsboro, N.C. -  Stan Adams, Goldsboro, N.C.  39-38--77 (+5)
T29 Mike Bivins, High Point, N.C. -  David Tuttle, High point, N.C.  42-35--77 (+5)
T31 Ray Jackson, Rocky Mount, N.C. -  Bob Norman, Rocky Mount, N.C.  39-39--78 (+6)
T31 Robert Parrott, Raleigh, N.C. -  Chuck Parker, Raleigh, N.C.  37-41--78 (+6)
T31 Ralph Ronalter, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Buck Adams Jr, Pinehurst, N.C.  37-41--78 (+6)
T31 Steve Lambert, Greensboro, N.C. -  Cam Blalock, Wrightsville, N.C.  39-39--78 (+6)
T31 David Shackelford, Cary, N.C. -  Jim Arlington, Apex, N.C.  37-41--78 (+6)
36 Bill Lee, Charlotte, N.C. -  Kenneth Weeks Jr, Charlotte, N.C.  42-38--80 (+8)
37 Jack Purdy, Pinehurst, N.C. -  Charley Johnson, Southern Pines, N.C.  41-41--82 (+10)


Competition Schedule:

Wednesday, August 9
Round 1

Thursday, August 10
Round 2.
Cut to low 30 teams and ties for final round

Friday, August 11
Final Round

Other News

News Archives

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media