Recent News

Hawkins Dominates First Round of Twin States

Emily Hawkins of Lexington, N.C. leads after the opening round of the 52nd Twin States Junior Girls' Championship at Spring Valley Country Club in Columbia, S.C. on Tuesday, July 31, 2018.

By: Brittany Stewart/CGA Communications Intern

COLUMBIA, S.C. (July 31, 2018) -- First round results of the 52nd Twin States Junior Girls' Championship at Spring Valley Country Club in Columbia, S.C. on Tuesday, July 31, 2018 (5,993 yards, Par 36-36--72, Course Rating 73.6/131).


Related: Championship Web Site | Starting Times | Scoring | Championship History | Photos

Emily Hawkins of Lexington, N.C. is competing in her last CGA junior event, and she is determined to go out with a bang. In the opening round of the 52nd Twin States Junior Girls' Championship, she shot a four-under-par 68 and was the only player to finish in red numbers. 

The four-time CGA champion earned a title earlier this summer at the North Carolinas Junior Girls' Championship and is looking to capture one more before she heads to Campbell University next month.

Hawkins had a slow start to her round and bogeyed two of her first five holes. Able to find her groove and establish momentum after birdieing No. 6, she was even par when she made the turn. On the back nine, Hawkins turned up the heat, carding two birdies and an eagle. She finished as the leader in the clubhouse and holds a six stroke lead over the rest of the field.

Six strokes behind Hawkins is Peyton Gillespie of Greenville, S.C. The rising high school senior carded a two-over-par 74 with three birdies in her first round. Elle Johnson of Inman, S.C., Lauren Martin of Mooresville, N.C., Molly Hardwick of Lexington, S.C. and Rachel Rich of Mount Pleasant, S.C. all carded a three-over-par 75 and are tied for third place headed into the second and final round of competition.

Play will resume on Wednesday with an 8:30 a.m. shotgun start. The champion will be crowned following play.


The championship format is 36 holes of stroke play competition.

Entry is open to any female amateur golfer ages 12 to 18 as of August 1, 2018, who has not started college, maintains a residence in North Carolina or South Carolina, is a member in good standing of a club which is a member of the Carolinas Golf Association (CGA) and has a current USGA Handicap Index at a CGA member club.

Scoring will be provided by the CGA throughout the championship, offering 9 and 18-hole updates. Live updates will also be available on the CGA’s official Twitter account, @cgagolf1909. Continue to visit the CGA website throughout this championship and all year long for complete championship coverage including scores, interviews, photos, and recaps.

52nd Twin States Junior Girls' Championship
Spring Valley Country Club | Columbia, S.C.
First Round Results

Pos. Player City, State- Grad Year   R1
1 Emily Hawkins Lexington, NC-2018 -4 68
2 Peyton Gillespie Greenville, SC-2019 +2 74
T3 Elle Johnson Inman, SC-2019 +3 75
T3 Lauren Martin Mooresville, NC-2020 +3 75
T3 Molly Hardwick Lexington, SC-2022 +3 75
T3 Rachel Rich Mount Pleasant, SC-2020 +3 75
7 Emma Schimpf Daniel Island, SC-2021 +4 76
T8 Abigail Schimpf Daniel Island, SC-2020 +5 77
T8 Alexia Siehl Fort Mill, SC-2022 +5 77
T8 Angelique Seymour Fayetteville , NC-2019 +5 77
T8 Lextyn Petz Columbia, SC-2021 +5 77
T8 Parker Stalvey Elgin, SC-2019 +5 77
T13 Charleigh Hodges Mooresville, NC-2018 +6 78
T13 Ella Kue Kings Mountain, NC-2023 +6 78
T13 Emily Dunlap Greenville, SC-2019 +6 78
T13 Kayla Bartemeyer Mount Pleasant, SC-2020 +6 78
T13 Kayleigh Reinke Rock Hill, SC-2021 +6 78
T13 Kelley Topiwala Charlotte, NC-2020 +6 78
T13 Kennedy Gooding Lexington, SC-2022 +6 78
T13 Mary Kathryn Talledo Spartanburg, SC-2021 +6 78
T21 Phoebe Carles Clinton, SC-2020 +7 79
T21 Victoria Cook Reidsville, NC-2020 +7 79
T23 Anna Morgan Spartanburg, SC-2019 +8 80
T23 Autumn Carey Manning, SC-2023 +8 80
T23 Karlee Vardas Lexington, SC-2021 +8 80
T23 Katelyn Lee Easley, SC-2020 +8 80
T23 Kennedy Carroll Mt. Pleasant, SC-2019 +8 80
T23 Kerington Lamb Easley, SC-2018 +8 80
T23 Nina Kouchi Charlotte, NC-2018 +8 80
T23 Olivia Erwin Charleston, SC-2019 +8 80
T31 Deborah Spair Raleigh, NC-2020 +9 81
T31 Kalina Siehl Fort Mill, SC-2022 +9 81
T31 Lexi Bennett Santee, SC-2021 +9 81
T31 Macie Burcham Greensboro, NC-2021 +9 81
T31 Parker Melting Mint Hill, NC-2018 +9 81
T36 Baylee Evans Lancaster, SC-2018 +10 82
T36 Kayla Yang Maiden, Nc-2019 +10 82
T36 Lorin Wagler Southern Pines, NC-2019 +10 82
T39 Ana Tsiros Asheville, NC-2019 +11 83
T39 Carly Lyvers Simpsonville, SC-2018 +11 83
T39 Kasey Owenby Gastonia, NC-2019 +11 83
42 Marley Barefoot West Columbia, SC-2019 +12 84
T43 Sarah Boteler Greenville, SC-2021 +13 85
T43 Sofia Carles Clinton, SC-2021 +13 85
T43 Zoe Carles Clinton, SC-2023 +13 85
T46 Ella Stalvey Blythewood , SC-2023 +14 86
T46 Ryann Sinclair Mooresville, NC-2019 +14 86
48 Maria File Moore, SC-2019 +15 87
49 Chloe Pittman Davidson, NC-2020 +16 88
T50 Paige Paolucci Blythewood, SC-2022 +19 91
T50 Regan Clifford Mount Pleasant, SC-2020 +19 91
52 Katie Smith Murrells Inlet, SC-2019 +24 96
53 Katie Warner Rock Hill , SC-2021 +30 102
54 Ava Neal Camden, SC-2022 +41 113

Schedule of rounds:

Monday, July 30, 2018

Practice Rounds Available

Tuesday July 31, 2018

Round 1 starting times: 8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.

Lunch available for players: 12:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Shotgun Start: 9:00 a.m.

Awards luncheon for players and spectators: 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m.

Other News

News Archives

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media