Recent News

Willis Named 2015 Parrott Award Winner

Nick Willis of Spartanburg, SC has been named the recipient of the David Parrott Award for 2015 by the Carolinas Golf Association.  Willis, the 2015 SC Junior Match Play Champion, was selected from the eight members that represented the Carolinas Golf Association in the Carolinas-Virginias Junior Team Matches at Boonsboro CC in Lynchburg, VA this past August.
Willis, a high school senior at Spartanburg Christian Academy, carries a GPA of 4.354 and is ranked 11th in his class at Spartanburg Christian.  “Nick is an outstanding young man. He has proven to be a model young man in the time he spends at the club,” stated Country Club of Spartanburg head golf professional Tom McAllister.  “I wish we had more like him,” added McAllister.
The David Parrott award is given annually to the Carolinas Team player who displays excellence in sportsmanship, ability, and academic excellence. The award is presented by Dr. Larry and Joy Parrott of Camden, SC in honor of their son David. David Parrot was diagnosed with leukemia in the spring of 1982 and during his brief illness, he participated in the golf camp at Duke University and competed in the SCGA South Carolina Junior Championship, finishing third in his flight. He was given the Derek Davis sportsmanship award at the championship for his effort, determination and inspiration he gave to all who knew him. David died July 29, 1982, at the age of 16.
Willis joins a prestigious of past Parrott award winners that include Tee Burton, Jonathan Byrd, Dustin Bray, Austin Reeves, Ben Kohles, Andy Knox and 2014 recipient Henry Shimp.  Willis will be presented the Parrott Award on Friday, February 19th at Country Club of Charleston during the Carolinas Golf Association’s Golf Night and Annual Meeting.
Past David Parrott Award Winners:
1986      Tee Burton
1987      Lance Reid
1988      Jason Widener
1989      Mike Byce
1990      Robert Dean
1991      Brian Brown
1992      Scott Newton
1993      Paul Dickens
1994      Paul Daniel
1995      Jonathan Byrd
1996      Chad Webb
1997      Michael Maness
1998      Michael Sims
1999      Dustin Bray
2000      Charles Chapman
2001      Rodney Thomas
2002      Sean Moore
2003      Barden Berry
2004      Justin Hare
2005      Drew Ernst
2006      Jacob Burger
2007      Austin Reeves
2008      Ben Kohles
2009      Parker Allen
2010      Andy Knox
2011      Will Starke
2012      Carter Jenkins
2013      Austin Inman
2014      Henry Shimp
2015      Nick Willis

Other News

News Archives

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media