Recent News

CGA announces 50th NC Junior Boys' Exemptions


The Carolinas Golf Association has announced exemptions for the 50th N.C. Junior Boys' Championship.  This annual match play championship will be hosted by Colonial CC in Thomasville, NC on June 27-30, 2017.  Golf course architect Gene Hamm left his mark throughout this great state, but perhaps none more memorable than the design at Colonial Country Club.  Hamm has built courses in some of the finest areas in North Carolina, including the historic Pinehurst area.  Hamm’s work at Colonial proved to be one of his finest.  Never one to disturb nature, Hamm carved the layout through hardwood forests leaving the natural contours of the land to provide the character of the course.  The result was a wonderful test of golf that thrills golfers to this day.

Each year junior golfers from across North Carolina compete in this annual match play championship to see who the best junior golfer is.  Some of the past champions include Scott Hoch, Dustin Bray, Barden Berry, David Chung, Will Collins, Andy Knox, Carter Page, Carter Jenkins, Jack Massei and 2016 champion Grant Powell just to name a few.  The champion receives exemptions into the NC Amateur, NC Amateur Match Play, Joe Cheves Junior Invitational, and Bobby Chapman Junior along with being invited to represent the Carolinas in the Carolinas-Virginias Junior Team Matches being hosted by Bonnesboro CC in Lynchburg, VA on August 12-13, 2017.

Registration opens on May 4th at 8:00 pm and all players must enter on line through the MyCGA registration system by June 1st.

Players in the following categories are exempt into the championship.  All other players must gain entry into the tournament proper through one of two qualifying sites.
Top 32 from 2016 NC Junior Championship
Austin Bonfiglio, Jonathan Brightwell, Ben Buben, Tim Bunten, Zach Caudill, Michael Childress, Ben Ferris, Joey      Funderburg, Alex Goff, Alex Huml, Ike Joy, Rhodes Karriker, Nicholas Lyerly, Jack Marcotte, Jack Massei, Dalton Mauldin, Carson Ownbey, Nicholas Page, Christian Park, Kenan Poole, Grant Powell, Avery Price, Lansdon Robbins, Matthew Sharpstene, Fulton Smith, Grant Smith, Britt Stroud, Tripp Summerlin, Zach Swanson, Andrew Wilmoth, Ben Woodruff and Grayson Wotnosky
Top 4 from 2016 NC Junior Boys’ 13 and Under Championship
Walker Isley, Ryan Macri, Jackson Van Paris and Hampton Roberts
Top 100 on the TYGA NC Boys’ Rankings as of May 4, 2017
Will be posted May 2, 2017
Top 5 individuals from all 2017 NC High School Championships
Will be posted on May 17, 2017
Top 5 from 2017 TYGA One Day Event at Mid Pines Inn & GC
Symon Balbin, Noah Connor, Brandon Einstein, Eston Lee, Luke Perrino, Joey Pritchard and Zane Sullivan
Top 5 from 2017 Pinewild Sandhills Flyers Junior Shoot Out
Jarod Clontz, Will Lewis, Joey Pritchard, Zach Roberts and Grayson Wotnosky
Top 10 from 2017 TYGA Archdale-Trinity Junior Open
Michael Blair, Bradley Calloway, Carson Castelli, Carrett Clark, Joseph Cook, William Crook, Justin Emmons, Drew Hackett, Jack Heath, Tyler Partee, Zach Roberts, Nicholas Stuedli and Dylon Wooten
Top 10 from the 2017 North State High School Challenge
Connor Armistead, Zach Brown, Thomas Eubanks, Peter Fountain, Davis Gilmore, Nicholas Lyerly, Chandler Metz, Lansdon Robbins, Michael Sanders and Jimbo Stanley
Top 10 from the 2017 Jimmy Anderson Boys’ Invitational
AJ Beechler, Austin Bonfiglio, Kevin Burris, Daniel Azallion, Alex Goff, Holden Grigg, Chris Kim, Nicholas Lyerly, Jack Massei, Dalton Mauldin, Nicholas Mayfield, Nathan Norfleet, Jake Rutter, Rob Salisbury, Nicholas Sutton and Jackson Van Paris
Top 5 from the 2017 TYGA NC High School Invitational
Carson Castelli, Michael Childress, Parker Gilliam, Quinn Riley, Michael Sanders and Jackson Van Paris
Top 5 from 2017 TYGA Pinecrest Invitational at Pinehurst CC No. 8
      Will be posted on April 20, 2017
Top 5 from the 2017 TYGA One Day Event at Bradford Creek
Will be posted on May 13, 2017
Top 5 from 2016 TYGA NC Middle School Championship
Jackson Bode, Minor Hinson, Owen Kose, Josh Lendach and Narayan Mohan

Overall results (not age divisions) are used to determine the exemptions from individual tournaments.

Exemptions do not go lower than the place listed for each event.

All exempt players must register on-line by June 1, 2017.

Boys’ Qualifying:

Those not included in the above categories have the opportunity to qualify on June 10 at Wedgewood GC in Wilson, NC or on June 14 at Statesville CC in Statesville, NC.  A minimum of ten spots will be available at each site.  The final qualifying numbers will be determined after entries have closed.

For more information, visit

Other News

News Archives

Carolinas Golf Association
140 Ridge Road, Southern Pines, NC 28387
910-673-1000 |
Monday-Friday: 8:30-5:00

Web Design by BlueTone Media